Ministry of Foreign Affairs & International Cooperation

Republic Of Somaliland



Country Profile

Somaliland's Main Export
The President of Somaliland
H.E Musa Bihi Abdi
Somaliland became independent from the UK on 26 June 1960. It reasserted its independence following the collapse of the Somali Republic, which was created following a voluntary union with former Italian-Somaliland, on 18 May 1991. It has maintained a peaceful and stable environment since its independence, and held a number of democratic, free and fair elections. ! It is the size of England and Wales combined.
Somaliland Profile
National Flag








Major languages




Main Exports

Life expectancy


Political Parties




Approximatly 3.5 million (2008 estimate)


137,600 km; 53,100sq miles. Adopted Territorial borders of the former British Somaliland.


H.E Musa Bihi Abdi


Somali, Arabic and English


6 in total. Egal International Airport in Hargeisa; Berbera Airport; Burao Airport; Erigavo Airport; Las Anod Airport and Borama Airport.

Somaliland Shilling


Annual population growth rate is 3.14%. Life expectancy is 49.

Berbera Port

3 main parties. Ucid, Wadani and Kulmiye.

Central Bank of Somaliland

US$1.4 Bilion (2012 estimate); US$347 per capita

14 Newspaper, 5 television stations and 1 radio stations.

Mission Abroad
Somaliland Government
The country has a republican form of government. The government consists of three branches which are: the Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary. The separation of the powers of these branches is as set out in the Constitution. Each branch exercises independently the exclusive powers accorded to it under the Constitution. Somaliland Executive Branch Sometimes referred to as “the Government” The state has an Executive Branch, which is separate and independent of the legislative and the judicial branches.The Executive Branch (sometimes referred to as “the Government”), is headed by the elected President and consists of the President, The vice-President also elected, and the Council of Ministers appointed by the President. Somaliland Legislative Branch The power to legislate cannot be transferred to anyone outside the Parliament The legislative powers of the Republic of Somaliland are vested exclusively in the Parliament which consists of two Houses – the House of Representatives and the House of the Elders. The power to legislate cannot be transferred to anyone outside the Parliament. All bills passed by the Parliament only come into force when the President publishes them in accordance with the Constitution. The Parliament fulfils its duties in accordance with the Constitution and its Rules. Somaliland Judicial Branch The Judiciary consists of the courts and the Prosecution. The judges and the members of the Prosecution are independent when exercising their judicial functions and are guided only by the law. The courts of the Republic of Somaliland consist of: the Supreme Court, the Appeal Courts of the Regions, the Regional Courts, the District Courts and the Courts of the National Armed Forces. The Supreme Court is the highest organ of the Judiciary and is also at the same time the Constitutional Court. In addition to the Chairman, the number of judges in the court shall not be less than four. A special law shall govern the court. The Prosecution of the state consists of the Attorney General and his department.

© 2017 Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Somaliland